Intangible Cultural Heritage in Austria

Performance Practice at the Salzburg Marionette Theatre

Applicant: Salzburger Marionettentheater
Province: Salzburg
Domain: Performing arts

In many countries, marionette theatre is a tradition that goes back thousands of years and is considered the most highly developed form of puppetry. The Salzburg Marionette Theatre has been devoting itself to this art form since 1913. In order to achieve the most natural motions possible, theatre founder Anton Aicher invented a specific type of horizontal control bar, still in use today, that is occasionally compared to a harp. The puppeteers grasp the strings attached to this bar as they perform in order to make their puppets move, thus creating the specific “notes” that give rise to their figures’ individual characters. This technique has been taught to all puppeteers trained at this theatre over the past 100 years. In addition to passing on the necessary performing techniques, it is also essential to convey the manual skills that go into carving the puppets, costuming them, and moving them. The original stock character of Salzburg’s marionette theatre tradition is the Salzburger Kasperl, who is modelled after a humorous rural figure from the remote Lungau region that was originally put onstage by an itinerant puppeteer around 1700. Today’s Salzburg Marionette Theatre stands out for being the only such theatre in the world devoted to the performance of operas.

The Salzburg Marionette Theatre was founded in 1913 by sculptor Anton Aicher, whose children later succeeded him at the helm. Their family tradition gave rise to a theatrical tradition that has now run for over a century.
The founder, a renowned sculptor, aimed to create an “artists’ marionette theatre”, a fact still evidenced by the individual figures’ physiognomies and artfully conceived clothing. The theatre’s performance practice has changed but little over the years. The figures are fastened to their control bars with 1.5 m strings and moved by puppeteers who stand over 2 m above the stage. The heads and bodies of the marionettes are produced by sculptors in an expensive and time-consuming process.
As always, the puppeteers play a crucial role: they bring the marionettes to life and transfer emotions to their figures using the strings. Only certain technical elements—such as the places where the strings are attached, as well as the stage technology (lighting, puppeteer bridge)—have been adapted over time. New puppeteers are trained at the theatre itself, since there are no Austrian institutions that teach this speciality.
These days, the theatre stages a broad range of material—including operas and works of contemporary and classical literature. This serves to sustain the public’s interest in marionette theatre and counteract the general tendency to automatically categorise it as an art form for children.

Links


Back

Verzeichnis des Immateriellen Kulturerbes in Österreich

Spielpraxis des Salzburger Marionettentheaters

Antragsteller: Salzburger Marionettentheater
Bundesland: Salzburg
Bereich: Darstellende Künste

Das Marionettentheater ist eine Tradition, die in vielen Ländern seit Jahrtausenden praktiziert wird und als höchst entwickelte Form des Puppen- und Figurentheaters gilt. Das Salzburger Marionettentheater widmet sich seit 1913 dieser Kunstform. Um eine möglichst natürliche Bewegung zu erreichen, erfand sein Gründer, Anton Aicher, ein Spielkreuz, das bis heute in Verwendung ist und gelegentlich mit einer Harfe verglichen wird. Beim Spiel greift der Puppenspieler in die daran befestigten Fäden, um die Figur zu bewegen und erzeugt dabei „Töne“, die den Charakter der Figur erschaffen. Jeder Puppenspieler, der in den letzten 100 Jahren an dem Theater angelernt wurde, hat diese Technik erlernt. Neben der künstlerischen Fertigkeiten ist auch die Weitergabe des handwerklichen Könnens notwendig, um die Puppen zu schnitzen, zu bemalen, sie zu kostümieren und zu bewegen. Die Urfigur des Salzburger Marionettentheaters ist der Salzburger Kasperl, der dem Lungauer Sauschneider, einer lustigen Figur aus bäuerlicher Umgebung nachempfunden ist und um 1700 von einem fahrenden Puppenspieler auf die Bühne gebracht wurde. Weltweit ist das Salzburger Marionettentheater das einzige, das sich der Aufführung von Opern widmet.
Das Salzburger Marionettentheater wurde 1913 vom Bildhauer Anton Aicher gegründet und in der Folge von seinen Kindern weitergeführt. Aus dieser Familientradition entstand eine über 100jährige Theatertradition.
Der Gründer erhob als renommierter Bildhauer den Anspruch eines „Künstler-Marionetten-Theaters“, was in den Physiognomien der einzelnen Figuren und in den kunstvollen Kleidern zum Ausdruck gebracht wird. An der Praxis selbst hat sich wenig geändert. Die Figuren sind mit 1,5m langen Fäden an Führungskreuzen befestigt und werden von PuppenspielerInnen, die 2m über der Bühne stehen, bewegt. Die Köpfe und Körper der Marionetten werden kosten- und zeitintensiv von BildhauerInnen angefertigt.
Den PuppenspielerInnen kommt nach wie vor eine tragende Rolle zu, sie bringen die Marionetten zum Leben und übertragen mit den Fäden ihre Emotionen auf die Figuren. Lediglich die Technik, etwa die Stellen, an denen die Fäden befestigt sind und die Bühnentechnik (Beleuchtung, Laufsteg für die SpielerInnen) wurden im Laufe der Zeit adaptiert. Die Weitergabe des Puppenspielens erfolgt am Theater, da es keine entsprechenden Ausbildungsstätten gibt.
Heute werden verschiedene Stücke gespielt, unter anderem auch Opern und Werke zeitgenössischer und klassischer Literatur. So wird versucht das Interesse des Publikums am Marionettentheater zu erhalten und der automatischen Einordnung als Kindertheater entgegen zu wirken.

Links


Zurück